Tournaments> State> 2016 NSW Under 100 Masterpoints Pairs Championships

2016 NSW Under 100 Masterpoints Pairs Championships

Great Lakes

Edward Gao (L), Club President Des Ford, Morgan Gao (R)
Overall Winners

Naomi McPherson (L), Des Ford, Delia Dan (R)

Geoff Unsworth (L), Des Ford, Barbara Williams (R)

Carol Gait (L), Des Ford, Faye Birtwistle (R)


Collette Joseph (L) with Marcia Scudder

Martin Cootes (L) and James Harvey (R)

Wing Roberts (L) and John Rogers (R)

Mary Poynten (L) and Clare Ainsworth (R)


Heather Shepherd and Jean Paterson

Christine And Kerry Bartlett
with club president Lee Andrews


The results for the 2016 Under 100 Masterpoints Championships Finals, played on 27th November at 17 separate venues around the state, are now available.  The scores from all venues were matchpointed across the state and the results for all 223 pairs who competed are shown in the following files:

Detailed results, including score frequency tables for each board played, can be found at  Follow the links on the left of screen to Overall Results and Frequency Tables.  Ignore any masterpoint awards shown on this site – they are incorrect.

Masterpoint awards

In accordance with the ABF Masterpoint Scheme, all awards were calculated on the non-handicapped results and include a Master Factor (shown in the following table).

Masterpoint Division 0-9.99 10-24.99 25-49.99 50-99.99
Master Factor applied 0.450 0.575 0.650 0.800


The top prize of an ABF grant to attend the Restricted Butler Pairs at the Canberra ANC is based on the non-handicapped scores.  Congratulations to Edward and Morgan Gao from Great Lakes Bridge Club.  They were clearly the dominant pair in the event, scoring well over 70% in both sessions and finishing nearly 10% ahead of their closest rivals.  All other prizes are awarded on the basis of the handicapped results.  The handicapping procedure is explained here.

Cash prizes ($300, $200 & $100 respectively) are awarded to the pairs coming first, second and third overall. 

Overall results

1st           Edward Gao – Morgan Gao (10-24.99)

2nd          Gai Hudson – Marie Jolly (50-99.99)

3rd           Christine Yates – Erica Gray (0-9.99)

Divisional prizes will be awarded to those pairs who have not already received a cash prize for finishing in the top three places.  So prizes will also be awarded to the pairs running 4th in the 0-9.99, 10-24.99 and 50-99.99 divisions.  Winning pairs in each Masterpoint Division win $100, whilst each runner-up receives a voucher from the Bridge Shop worth $30.  In addition, all the prize winners listed have won subscriptions to the Novice Edition of Australian Bridge magazine. 

Certificates will also be issued to the winners in each division at each of the centres holding local finals.  Winners of major prizes can expect to receive them sometime in mid-January.

List of divisional prize winners based on handicapped results

50-99.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Gai Hudson – Marie Jolly

2nd          Geoff Unsworth – Barbara Williams

3rd           Wing Roberts – John Rogers

4th           Peter Reed – Michele Kerin

25-49.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Di Eastway – Elaine Morell

2nd          Sharyn Dilosa – Nerellyn Mitchell

3rd           Carolyn Githens – Marie Pickering

10-24.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Edward Gao – Morgan Gao

2nd          Helen Michener – Judy Boyle

3rd           Delia Dan – Naomi McPherson

4th           Catherine Tucker – Peter Hopper

0-9.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Christine Yates – Erica Gray

2nd          Elizabeth Jones – Brian Goldman

3rd           Heather Shepherd – Jean Paterson

4th           Lynne Rainford – Cathy Russell


Qualifying sessions: Preferably September 12-18, 2016 and October 10-16, 2016 (In your local club. Check your local club for actual session dates and times.).

Finals: Sunday November 27, 2016 (in a local club)

Over 70% of the registered active players in the state have fewer than 100 masterpoints.
Masterpoint range % of registered
active NSW players
0-9.99 MP 33%
10-24.99 MP 13%
25-49.99 MP 12%
50-99.99 MP 12%

The Under 100MP State Pairs Championships are restricted to those players with fewer than 100 masterpoints. Qualifying sessions are held in your club and the Finals are held at multiple venues around the state, thus eliminating problems associated with travel times and accommodation costs.

Red masterpoints are issued at level B4s and will be paid for by the NSWBA. Masterpoints are calculated and awarded separately in each masterpoint division.

Entry fee is just $2.00 per player, payable when you play your club qualifying session.

Prizes (cash, subscriptions to the Novice Australian Bridge magazine and certificates) will be awarded separately in each masterpoint division.

Clubs that will be participating are listed below.

The following clubs are holding UHMP sessions during September and/or October. UHMP Finals will be held by the following clubs on Sunday 27th November
Batemans Bay
Blue Mountains
Bridge at the Bay
Camden Haven (Lusc)
Central Coast Leagues Club
Coffs Harbour
Commercial Club (Albury)
Great Lakes
Griffith Ex-Servicemens
Hawks Nest
Hunters Hill
Illawarra Bridge Association
Kiama and District
Leeton Soldiers
Lennox Head
Nambucca Valley
Port Macquarie-Hastings
Wagga Wagga
Batemans Bay
Camden Haven (Lusc)
Central Coast Leagues Club
Coffs Harbour
Commercial Club (Albury)
Great Lakes
Illawarra Bridge Association
Leeton Soldiers
North Shore
Wagga Wagga
For Clubs

The NSWBA invites all affiliated clubs to conduct qualifying events for the 2016 Under 100 MP Pairs Championships.

Click here for the Online Entry form

Click here to apply to host a local final

All enquiries to:
NSWBA Office ☎ (02) 9264 8111 OR
Warren Lazer ☎ (02) 9744 1555