Tournaments> State> 2022 NSW Under 100 Masterpoints Pairs Championships

2022 NSW Under 100 Masterpoints Pairs Championships

Stephanie Price and Kyna Foo
with organiser Warren Lazer
Overall Winners

Jane Martin and Pauline Wood
First in the 25-49.99 MPs Division

Robyn Thomas and Kay Oxley
Ballina BC Winners

Stephen Guo and Alan Stoneham
with organiser Warren Lazer
Second in the 50-99.99 MPs Division



The results for the 2022 Under 100 Masterpoints Championships Finals, played between Nov 21 and 27 at various venues around NSW, are now available.  This year we had 192 pairs.  The scores from all 13 separate venues were matchpointed across the state and the results for all competing pairs are shown in the following files:

Detailed results for each pair and score frequency tables for each board played can be found at Considering that we are currently in a fourth Covid wave, the attendance was very encouraging.  When the UHMP was last held in 2019, there were 211 pairs playing in 12 different venues.

Note that when the event is matchpointed across the state, percentages and order of rank can vary quite considerably from those obtained when matchpointing involves only those players within the Local Final. The smaller the Local Final session, the greater this effect. A more detailed explanation of this effect can be found in this article: UHMP Scoring.

Masterpoint awards

In accordance with the ABF Masterpoint Scheme, all awards were calculated on the non-handicapped results and include a Master Factor (shown in the following table). Awards are made to the top half of the field in each masterpoint division.

Masterpoint Division





Master Factor applied





These awards, along with those from club sessions held September through November, will be included in the end of December Masterpoint Centre update.


The top prize of free entry and an ABF grant to attend the Restricted Butler Pairs at the Perth ANC (July 15 & 16) is based on the non-handicapped scores. Congratulations to Margaret and Dave Havyatt from the Illawarra Bridge Association.

All other prizes are awarded on the basis of the handicapped results.  Cash prizes ($300, $200 & $100) are awarded to the pairs coming first, second and third overall.  

» Explanation of the handicapping procedure


Overall results

1st    Stephanie Price - Kyna Foo (0-9.99)        Sydney Bridge Centre

2nd    Margaret Havyatt – Dave Havyatt (50-99.99)    Illawarra Bridge Association

3rd   Chris Petrow – Cheryl Field (0-9.99)        Tomaree

Winning pairs in each Masterpoint Division win $100, whilst each runner-up receives a voucher from the Bridge Shop worth $30.  These Divisional prizes will be awarded to those pairs who have not already received a cash prize for finishing in the top three places overall, so will devolve to lower placed pairs in the 0-9.99 and 50-99.99 divisions.  In addition, first, second and third in each division have won subscriptions to the online version of Australian Bridge magazine.

Certificates will also be issued to the winners in each division at each of the centres holding local finals.  Winners of major prizes can expect to receive them sometime in January.

List of divisional prize winners based on handicapped results

50-99.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Margaret Havyatt – Dave Havyatt

2nd           Stephen Guo – Alan Stoneham

3rd           Susan Eason – Simon Hunter

4th           Bernadette Mossman – Catherine Wood

25-49.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Jane Martin – Pauline Wood

2nd           Graham Woof – Carolynne Mucharsky

3rd           Colin Rose – Michael Wranik

10-24.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Odette Reynolds – Faith Blake

2nd           Jonathan Kelly – Emily Francis

3rd           Neah Williams – John Burrows

0-9.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Stephanie Price – Kyna Foo

2nd           Chris Petrow – Cheryl Field

3rd           Catherine Ma – Christine Tuon

4th           Robyn Thomas - Kay Oxley

Comments from the Organiser

All aspects of the event are up for discussion. If you have any comments or suggestions for improvement, please email

Thanks to all the players for being involved. I hoped you enjoyed it. The UHMP Finals will be held in the week November 27 – December 3 in 2023. I hope you’ll take part.

Yours sincerely,
Warren Lazer (Organiser)



Over 70% of the registered active players in the state have fewer than 100 masterpoints. The Under 100 Masterpoint Pairs Championships (UHMP) are restricted to those players with fewer than 100 masterpoints as at September 1, 2022. The UHMP are played in two independent stages and in four masterpoint divisions (see table below).
Masterpoint range % of registered
active NSW players
0-9.99 MP 32%
10-24.99 MP 14%
25-49.99 MP 12%
50-99.99 MP 12%

The first stage consists of club sessions played in your local club during September and October.  Check your local club for session times.

The second stage consists of a Local Final sometime in the week 21-27 November, 2022 at a local club. All Local Finals play the same boards and the results will be matchpointed across the state. 

Red masterpoints are issued at level B4s. Masterpoints are calculated and awarded separately in each masterpoint division.

Prizes will include free entry to major Australian Restricted and or Novice events (donated by the ABF), cash, certificates and subscriptions to the online Novice Edition of the Australian Bridge magazine.

UHMP Finals will be held by the following clubs between 21-27 November. Contact the club for further details.
Armidale Bridge Club (2-010) Wed 23 Nov 1.00pm
Ballina Bridge Club (2-016) Thu 24 Nov 1.00pm
Brisbane Water Bridge Club (2-022) Wed 23 Nov 12.45pm
Coffs Harbour Bridge Club (2-028) Mon 21 Nov 1.00pm
Cowra Bridge Club (2-038) Tue 22 Nov 12.30pm
Great Lakes Bridge Club (2-081) Thu 24 Nov 9.00am
Illawarra Bridge Association (2-105) Sun 27 Nov 1.30pm
Mollymook Bridge Club (2-146) Sun 27 Nov 1.30pm
Peninsula Bridge Club (2-210) Mon 21 Nov 1.15pm
Port Macquarie-Hastings (2-227) Fri 25 Nov 1.00pm
Sydney Bridge Centre (2-006) Sun 27 Nov 1.30pm
Tomaree Bridge Club (2-254) Fri 25 Nov 9.30am
Wellington Bridge Club (2-268) Tue 22 Nov 9.30am
For Clubs

The NSWBA invites all affiliated clubs to conduct sessions for the 2022 Under 100 MP Pairs Championships.

Enter your club

Apply to host a Local Final

Club Administration Log In


Warren Lazer
Phone: 02 9744 1555 after 10.00 am