Tournaments> State> NSW State Wide Pairs

NSW State Wide Pairs

July 29 - August 4, 2019

In 2019 the NSW State Wide Pairs will run for one session only during the first week in August.

Hands are provided together with a booklet, which features brief commentary on each deal for perusal at the completion of the session. The event is then scored across all participating clubs and overall winners determined.

Cash prizes are presented, as well as gift vouchers from the Bridge Shop and certificates for the winners in each club. Prizes are also awarded in the restricted divisions of Under 25, Under 50 and Under 100 masterpoints (as at 30th June 2019).

Click here for the Online Entry form

2019 Results

There were 464 pairs competing in 27 different clubs, a pleasing increase of 2 clubs from 2018. Final positions of all pairs can be found by following the Overall Results link below.
Results for each club can be found by following the Club Results link below.
Pairs can obtain a full breakdown of their results by accessing the scoring website, following the links to Overall Results and then clicking on their pair names. Note that when the event is matchpointed across the state, percentages and order of rank can vary quite considerably from those obtained when matchpointing involves only those players within the club. The smaller the club session, the greater this effect. These raw results include casual pairs and hence final positions may not be correct. The red masterpoint awards shown are all incorrect. The MP awards shown in the 2019 Overall Results link below are correct.

It was a close affair this year, with winners Margaret Dunlop and Nancy De Ville from Camden Haven (Lusc) less than a third of a top ahead of Rosemary and David Smart from Cromer. Less than 0.5% separated the next five place-getters:
David Graham and Karen Newby (Goulburn) were third,
Mary O’Neill and Louise Brassil (Moruya) were fourth,
Lois Chambers and Pamela Potter (Turramurra) were fifth.

Winners of the restricted masterpoint categories are:

Below 25 MPs: Peter Dearden and Kevin Robinson from Parkes

Below 50 MPs: David Driscoll and Clifford Hall from Orange

Below 100 MPs: Karen Sivyer and Thomas Fehily from Tomaree