Tournaments> State> 2017 NSW Under 100 Masterpoints Pairs Championships

2017 NSW Under 100 Masterpoints Pairs Championships


Clare Ainsworth and Mary Poynten with Marcia Scudder


Frank Cant and Dulcie Taylor with Jane North


Brian Goldman and Barrie Pryor
1st Overall


Illawarra Bridge Association

David Higgins and B Rewers


Farzi Sayfi and Peter Henderson
2nd Overall

Marieta Borthwick and Heidi Colenbrander
3rd Overall and winners of the ABF grant


Lee Andrews (President) with Christine and Kerry Bartlett
3rd in the 50-99.9 MP division


The results for the 2017 Under 100 Masterpoints Championships Finals, played on 26th November at 12 separate venues around the state, are now available. The scores from all venues were matchpointed across the state and the results for all 166 pairs who competed are shown in the following files::

Detailed results, including score frequency tables for each board played, can be found at  Follow the links on the left of screen to Overall Results and Frequency Tables.  Ignore any masterpoint awards shown on this site – they are incorrect.

Masterpoint awards

In accordance with the ABF Masterpoint Scheme, all awards were calculated on the non-handicapped results and include a Master Factor (shown in the following table).

Masterpoint Division 0-9.99 10-24.99 25-49.99 50-99.99
Master Factor applied 0.450 0.575 0.650 0.800


The top prize of free entry and an ABF grant to attend the Restricted Butler Pairs at the Hobart ANC (August 5 & 6) is based on the non-handicapped scores. Congratulations to Marieta Borthwick and Heidi Colenbrander from Peninsula Bridge Club.

All other prizes are awarded on the basis of the handicapped results. Clearly the handicapping is having the desired effect as the top four place-getters were all within 0.7% of each other and represented 3 of the 4 different MP groups. Cash prizes ($300, $200 & $100) are awarded to the pairs coming first, second and third overall. The handicapping procedure is explained here.

Overall results

1st          Barrie Pryor - Brian Goldman (10-24.99)

2nd          Farzi Sayfi - Peter Henderson (0-9.99)

3rd          Marieta Borthwick - Heidi Colenbrander (50-99.99)

Divisional prizes will be awarded to those pairs who have not already received a cash prize for finishing in the top three places. So prizes will also be awarded to the pairs running 4th in the 0-9.99, 10-24.99 and 50-99.99 divisions. Winning pairs in each Masterpoint Division win $100, whilst each runner-up receives a voucher from the Bridge Shop worth $30. In addition, all the prize winners listed have won subscriptions to the Novice Edition of Australian Bridge magazine. Each winner needs to email and provide your email address so that your on-line subscription can be set up.

Certificates will also be issued to the winners in each division at each of the centres holding local finals. Winners of major prizes can expect to receive them sometime in January.

List of divisional prize winners based on handicapped results

50-99.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Marieta Borthwick - Heidi Colenbrander

2nd          John McCaffrey - Joe Conde

3rd           Kerry Bartlett - Christine Bartlett

4th           Fiona Lavery - Kit Meyers

25-49.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Heather McCallum - Peter Westmoreland

2nd          Jenny Archer - Wendy Rogers

3rd           David Higgins - B Rewers

10-24.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Barrie Pryor - Brian Goldman

2nd          Frank Cant - Dulcie Taylor

3rd           Gayle Calvert - Steve English

4th           Carol Wett - Christine Mahler

0-9.99 Masterpoint Division

1st           Farzi Sayfi - Peter Henderson

2nd          Ricki Blackwell - Adrienne Cobby

3rd           Barry Butler - Judith Hunt

4th           Barbara van Pernis - Cheryle Wurst

Comments from the Organiser

It was very disappointing that both the number of clubs and the numbers of pairs participating dropped quite considerably compared to last year. A major objective of the UHMP is to provide a gentle introduction to congresses, allowing restricted players to experience nearby clubs and to meet new players in a relaxed environment. Obviously this is easier to achieve in Sydney where the travel times are around 20 minutes. My impressions (please correct me if I’m wrong) are that Finals in country venues were mainly composed of just the organising clubs members. What can we do to improve this?

All aspects of the event are up for discussion. If you have any comments or suggestions for improvement, please email .

Thanks to all the players for being involved. I hoped you enjoyed it.

Yours sincerely,
Warren Lazer (Organiser)

Qualifying sessions: Preferably September 11-17, 2017 and October 9-15, 2017 (In your local club. Check your local club for actual session dates and times.).

Finals: Sunday November 26, 2017 (in a local club)

Over 70% of the registered active players in the state have fewer than 100 masterpoints.
Masterpoint range % of registered
active NSW players
0-9.99 MP 33%
10-24.99 MP 13%
25-49.99 MP 12%
50-99.99 MP 12%

The Under 100MP State Pairs Championships are restricted to those players with fewer than 100 masterpoints as at August 31, 2017. Early rounds (club sessions) will be played in affiliated clubs and scored locally. Local Finals are played simultaneously over 2 sessions on Sunday 26th November at about 20 different centres scattered around NSW. .

Red masterpoints are issued at level B4s and will be paid for by the NSWBA. Masterpoints are calculated and awarded separately in each masterpoint division.

Entry fee is just $2.00 per player, payable when you play your club qualifying session.

Prizes will include free entry to major Australian Restricted and or Novice events (donated by the ABF), cash, certificates and subscriptions to the online Novice Edition of the Australian Bridge magazine.

Clubs that will be participating are listed below.

The following clubs are holding UHMP sessions during September and/or October. UHMP Finals will be held by the following clubs on Sunday 26th November
Ballina Bridge Club (2-016)
Batemans Bay Bridge Club (2-019)
Blue Mountains Bridge Club Inc (2-020)
Brisbane Water Bridge Club (2-022)
Camden Haven (Lusc) Bridge Club (2-024)
Central Coast Bridge Club (2-025)
Central Coast Leagues Club Bridge Club (2-036)
Coffs Harbour Bridge Club (2-028)
Commercial Club (Albury) Bridge Club (2-005)
Dubbo Bridge Club (2-130)
Easts Bridge Club (2-065)
Glenbrook Bridge Club (2-075)
Great Lakes Bridge Club (2-081)
Griffith Ex-Servicemens Bridge Club (2-085)
Illawarra Bridge Association (2-105)
Kiama and District Bridge Club (2-086)
Leeton Soldiers Bridge Club (2-116)
Mollymook Bridge Club (2-146)
Moruya Bridge Club (2-241)
Nambucca Valley Bridge Club (2-170)
Port Macquarie-Hastings Bridge Assoc (2-227)
Taree Bridge Club (2-256)
Tilligerry Bridge Club (2-258)
Tomaree Bridge Club (2-254)
Tumut Bridge Club (2-262)
Urunga Bridge Club (2-269)
Batemans Bay Bridge Club (2-019)
Blue Mountains Bridge Club Inc (2-020)
Camden Haven (Lusc) Bridge Club (2-024)
Central Coast Leagues Club Bridge Club (2-036)
Coffs Harbour Bridge Club (2-028)
Commercial Club (Albury) Bridge Club (2-005)
Dubbo Bridge Club (2-130)
Great Lakes Bridge Club (2-081)
Griffith Ex-Servicemens Bridge Club (2-085)
Illawarra Bridge Association (2-105)
Maitland Bridge Club (2-133)
NSBC@Lindfield (2-074)
NSWBA (2-001)
Peninsula Bridge Club (2-210)
Southside Bridge Centre (2-239)
For Clubs

The NSWBA invites all affiliated clubs to conduct qualifying events for the 2017 Under 100 MP Pairs Championships.

Click here for the Online Entry form

Click here to apply to host a local final

The Tournament Organiser of this event (on behalf of the NSWBA) is Warren Lazer. All correspondence and queries should be sent to or ring Warren on (02) 9744 1555 after 10.00 am.