Tournaments> GNOT> 2017> Metropolitan Region

2017 Grand National Open Teams (GNOT) - Sydney Metropolitan Region

The NSWBA will send 22 teams to the GNOT National Final with 7 of those teams from the Sydney Metropolitan region (2 directly from the NSWBA qualifying event, 1 directly from the NSBC qualifying event and 4 from the Sydney Metropolitan final).

For 2017 there is a change in the way qualifying teams are subsidised to attend the national final. For teams using air travel to Tweed Heads the ABF will be purchasing airfares for 4 team members rather than providing cash subsidies. More details are on the ABF Website.

For Clubs

All Sydney Metropolitan clubs are invited to hold qualifying events to determine representative teams that will compete in a Metropolitan Final at the NSWBA on Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September.

Sydney Metropolitan Direct Qualifiers

The NSWBA and the North Shore Bridge Club will each hold an event to qualify two and one teams respectively directly to the GNOT National Final.

NSWBA GNOT Direct Qualifier Starts June 19

NSBC GNOT Qualifier Starts August 3

NSWBA Direct Qualifier Results

Sydney Metropolitan Final
NSWBA September 23-24

A knock-out teams event (28 board matches) with Swiss repechage (14 board matches). Two teams from the knockout section and two teams from the Swiss repechage qualify to the National Final, held from 24-27 November.

Players who have failed to qualify via a club qualifying event may form teams and enter the Metropolitan Final directly via the NSWBA. All members of such teams must have participated in a DQE or a club qualifying event and the entry must specify the club(s) at which the members played. Direct entry costs $280 per team . Augmentation of such teams at the completion of the Metropolitan Final is not permitted – the team that enters is the team that qualifies to the National Final.

All enquiries to the organiser:
Michael Wilkinson

0459 981 124