|*1 - Described by North as Penalties
2HX NS: +200
Tournament Director Statement of Facts:
South intended his bid for takeout, North believes that double in this sequence is just showing values.
Misinformation but no damage as 2H appears unlikely to make 8 tricks even on declarers stated line of ducking
the first heart. Score stands.
Misinformation by opponent
After the DK lead, DA, D ruff
Spade finesse losing. Probable D return. (Trick 3+)
Following that declarer can score D ruff (Trick 4+)
2 spade tricks (Tricks 5 and 6)
and declarer can make 2 more trump tricks
Declarer doesn't have to state how he would have played it immediately. He is allowed to think and plan.
South meant double for takeout.
North thought it was penalty, even though he held 5 hearts. If he thought it takeout he would have bid 2S or 3D, the latter more likely as South
should only have 3 card spade suit.
The Committee's decision:
The Committee ruled: Score adjusted to NS: -670
Had the EW pair known the correct information (ie takeout) the cross ruff line will most likely make 8 tricks.