Batemans Bay Bridge Club Congress at the Bay 2018

9 - 11 MARCH 2018 (FRI - SUN)



The programmes: 9 March (Fri) 7:00pm start Walk-in Pairs

10 March (Sat) 10:00am & 2:00pm Swiss Pairs

11 March (Sun) 9:30am & 1:30pm Swiss Teams

27th Annual Congress

by Carolyn Bulgar

The Batemans Bay Bridge Club hosted a very successful 2018 Congress with players from Sydney, the ACT, surrounding south coast clubs and elsewhere joining local club members at the Batemans Bay Soldiers Club - an excellent venue for our event.

Following are some highlights captured over the weekend:

Visitor, Ian Wright, was on his knees begging for a place at the table while Bev Crossman (just home from an overseas trip) found a quiet spot to enjoy nibbles and a glass of wine and celebrate the event.

There were 42 tables in the Swiss Pairs event where the winning pair was Elizabeth Havas and Arjuna De Liveria followed by Robert Van Der Hoek and Sue Neill and Karen Creet and Richard Brightling. The best Local Restricted pair was Laurie Oliver and David Holbeck and the best Local Novice Pair was Helen McLaughlan and Janice Ferguson.

Congratulations to the Youth team - Ranson, Sundersan, Neulinger, Yuen - which won the Swiss Teams 41 tables event. They were followed by the Trish Afflick team (a local team) and the Arjuna De Liveria team.

Our club president, Ron Maxwell, thanked Sharon Danhel (Director, Soldiers Club) for support of the Soldiers Club as well as our volunteer club members whose efforts helped make the Congress at the Bay 2018 a great success.

Planning is already underway for our 2019 event!!



Visitor, Ian Wright, was on his knees begging for a place at the table.



Deep in thought.



Welcome speech by Elizabeth Havas.



The Youth Team is the overall winner – Sebastian Yuen, Nico Ranson, Lakshmi Sunderasan and Zachary Neulinger.



The Afflick Team came 2nd in the Open Division – Trish Affllick, Sharon Danhel in the uniform (Soldiers Club presenter), Richard Prickett, Richard Bodell and Chris Fader.



The De Livera Team came 3rd in the Open Division – Arjuna De Livera, Tony Marinos, Elizabeth Havas and Peter Grant.



Restricted Teams winners – Kate Cush, Imogen Muenchhausen, Ian Wright, Suzanne Samarcq.



The location makes Batemans Bay Congress popular.



Some thrilled members of the winning Novice Team who were Lydia Hockings ,Robyn Stanhope, Chris Taylor and Pauline Lane

...More results can be found HERE.